PDA

View Full Version : Asia Domain Name Registration Scam - scofield@asiaregistrar.org - Karl Fisher


laurentio
18th September 2008, 09:15 AM
Here is the scam email:
__________________________________________________ ___________

Subject: Dispute of domain name
or
Subject: Domain name of XXXX (TO CEO)

Dear Manager,

Asia Network is the company of internet services that the domain registration is one of the major online style of our service range. Now we have something need to confirm with you.
We hope you to cooperate with us. On 2008-09-18, we received an application from one person named “Karl Fischer” who wants to register some XXXX(XXXX.jp XXXX.hk XXXX.com.my XXXX.ph XXXX.vn)and internet brand(XXXX).
According to our investigation, we found that domain names have relevance to your company’s name and trademark, so we send this email for you to confirm it. We are dealing with this affair in these days, so we wish to get the confirmation and the assent of your company.
If Karl Fischer doesn’t belong to your company and you don’t authorize him to register these domains, Pls contact with me asap in order to prevent some guy from abusing your trademarks and the company names.
In addition, I must state that we have time limited for one person or one company’s registration. It is just 15 days.
If your company files doesn't resent within the time limited.
We will unconditionally authorized the application of Karl Fischer.In order to deal with this issue better,please let someone who is responsible for trademark or domain name contact me asap.
Thank you for your cooperate.


Best Regards,

Michael Scofield
Sponsoring Registrar:
Asia Network
Add:UNITS A&B 15/F NEICH TOWER 128 GLOUCESTER RD WANCHAI, HK
Tel:+852 3118 18087
Fax:+852 3065 8189 +852 3187 5548
Email:Scofield@asiaregistrar.org
Website: www.asiaregistrar.org

And here is the reason:
__________________________________________________ ___________

The scam is simple. They will "dispute" those domain names on your behalf later on registering them for you at a very high price. You'll receive a "Domain name and Internet brand keyword Disputed Application form?!!" in order to allow them dispute these domains in your behalf. (Again, there's no dispute, this is a made up story in order to sell you those domains at an extremely high price)

As you can probably guess, the “Domain name&Internet brand keyword Disputed Application form” is not a dispute form at all, but an order form, with exorbitant rates to register domains. Here’s the price list:

Single registration fee:
(.cn/.com.cn/.net.cn/.org.cn) Domain name:160USD/ 5Y/Name
(.hk/.tw) Domain name:405USD/ 5Y/Name
(.mobi) Domain name:320USD/ 5Y/Name
(.cc) Domain name:340USD/ 5Y/Name
(.asia) Domain name:840USD/ 5/YName
.Internet brand keyword: 705EUR/ 5 Years/ Per Name

Read more about this scam here (http://trusted.md/feed/items/system/2008/01/29/asia_domain_name_registration_scam):